Sign in to follow this  
disco

Europa Universalis 4

http://www.gamespot.com/europa-universalis-iv/reviews/europa-universalis-iv-review-6413174/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Europa_Universalis_IV

I bought this game 2 days ago and am very much enjoying it. It is a RTS, and the best way to describe it is a blend of the Total War strategic style (not battles, but the strategy map) and Civ style research, trade, and diplomacy. Battles are fought civ style - you move a unit into a space, it fights another unit automatically, and someone loses. 

It is also very challenging and very complex. I played the tutorial (who does that??), and I'm still learning new ways of doing things and how to manage X and plan for Y.

Anyway i've played it about 10 hours so far, and I am really really enjoying it. It is much more intricate and complex than say Civ 5 (which I always felt was a little cartoon-ized), and the map management works just like Total War - its a very awesome combination. While it is an RTS, you can pause the game whenever you want to manage building / production / army movements, then un-pause to resume playing.